The 2022 Chancellor's Awards for Research

The Chancellor's Awards for Research recognize excellence on the part of faculty in published research, scholarship, or creative expression. The awards will be given for works presented or published in the preceding three calendar years. This year's awards will be given for works that have publication years of 2019, 2020, or 2021. Up to five of these prizes may be awarded each year. Unlike the Sutherland Prize, which is awarded for lifetime achievement in research, the Chancellor's Awards for Research recognize excellence for research published during a given year. All full-time faculty members are eligible for these research prizes. Works by research teams (two or more faculty) at Vanderbilt are also eligible for consideration. All Vanderbilt co-authors must be nominated in a single nomination, and they would share the award. (Co-authors who are not Vanderbilt faculty are not recognized.)

Nominations <u>must</u> include the following materials:

- 1. The full citation for the work;
- 2. A brief description of the nominated work;
- 3. An explanation of the significance of the research, scholarship, or creative expression;
- 4. Evidence of the work's importance, including external commentary, book reviews, impact factors, citations, awards, and other external recognition;
- 5. A complete curriculum vitae; and,
- 6. A copy of the article or, in the case of a book, the introduction and a significant chapter. For creative works or presentations, an appropriate archival work may be submitted.

Letters of nomination or additional recommendation letters are helpful but not required.

Previous recipients are not eligible to receive a second award. The list of past winners can be found on the <u>Office of Faculty Affairs</u> website.

Complete nominations must be received by 5 p.m. on Wednesday, May 18, 2022.

Please submit all nominations electronically via <u>InfoReady</u>. You must log in to the system using your VUnetID and password. Please direct any questions to Jermaine Soto, Director of Faculty Development in the Office of Faculty Affairs (<u>jermaine.a.soto@vanderbilt.edu</u>).